New Zealand Team for the 2018 World Kendo Championships

It is with great pleasure that the New Zealand Kendo Team selectors (Team Kantoku Alex Bennett, Women’s Kantoku Liz Dutton, Men’s Coach Blake Bennett, and Women’s Coach Sue Lytollis) announce the successful members of the New Zealand Kendo Team for the 17th World Kendo Championship in 2018.

They are as follows:

Men’s Team
1. Jay Hwang
2. Walt Kim
3. Thomas Hong
4. Walter McCahon
5. Clem Guo
6. Nick Robertson
7. Jordan Te Wharau
8. Masa Matsunami

The Men’s apprentice will be Kai Edwards.

Women’s Team
1. Akiyo Yamaguchi-Ellin
2. Tania Butterfield
3. Haruko Tsuzuki
4. Joyce Tsai
5. Shawn Zhang and
6. Rina Igarashi

The Women’s apprentices are Ria Ellin and Rosa Hartnoll.

Team physio/doctor will be Nigel Tan.

In coming weeks, the team will receive official notice of their selection, a Pledge to sign, and will also be asked for an initial deposit towards the expenses of this campaign.

We congratulate all kenshi who have tried their best in this selection process. While not everyone can be selected to represent New Zealand, we hope all of you remain committed to your practice and keep motivated to try out for future World Kendo Championships.

Club leaders and NZKF members, now is your chance to support our New Zealand Kendo Team for the 17th World Kendo Championships to be held in Korea (in September 2018) with fundraising and support to attend the various national team trainings in the build up.

FYI – Women who wish to travel with and train with the women’s team will be unofficial supporters known as the Women’s Support Team. Any women who wish to be in the support team should communicate with Sue.